Historic Writing and Maps
The Blue Hills Reservation is a state park, managed by the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation. The park extends into Milton, Quincy, Braintree, Canton, Randolph, and Dedham.
To receive “Discover the Blue Hills” – a free 16-page color guide with maps, published by the Friends of the Blue Hills – click here.
1835 – actress Fanny Kemble visits Blue Hill and Granite Rail Quarry in her Journal (8 pgs)
1887 – excerpts from Rev. Albert K. Teele’s History of Milton, Massachusetts 1640-1887 (46 pg and one map)
1891 – Sylvester Baxter’s A Massachusetts Forest from Garden and Forest magazine, a proposal for a park in the Blue Hills (7 pg essay)
1892 – Chapter 342 of the Acts of 1892 (an act establishing a metropolitan park commission)
1893 – Charles Eliot’s Report of the Landscape Architect for the Metropolitan Park Commission (28 pg essay with maps, drawings, and photos)
1893 – Chapter 407 of the Acts of 1893 (the Metropolitan Park Commission Act)
1894 – Chapter 288 of the Acts of 1894 (an act authorizing parkway construction)
1895 – E. G. Chamberlain’s Names of the Blue Hills from the Boston Transcript (2 pg essay)
1895 – Warren H. Manning’s reforestation proposal for the Blue Hills (14 pg essay)
1898 – Four walking tours from Edwin M. Bacon’s Walks and Rides in the Country Round About Boston (24 pg essay)